The 5 Archipelagos of Tahiti

The Society Islands (consisting of the Windward Islands and Leeward Islands-the-Wind) is a set of high tropical islands surrounded by lagoons. It includes in particular:

  • Tahiti, the largest of the Polynesian islands, home to the administrative capital, Papeete, and the only international airport in the territory;
  • Moorea, whose volcanic peaks reflected in a turquoise lagoon, separated from Tahiti by a deep inlet of 17 km;
  • Huahine, the Garden of Eden, wild and mysterious island, located 175 km northwest of Tahiti, with its so secret traditions still alive;
  • Raiatea and Tahaa, the fertile valleys sacred islands, sharing the same lagoon and offering boating conditions particularly pleasant;
  • Bora Bora, the famous, overlooking the unreal beauty of its lagoon waters, its  motu with coconut fringed white sand and coral gardens;
  • Maupiti Island center, nestled in the middle of a lagoon of jade.

The Tuamotu Archipelago is a collection of low islands or “atolls”. The Tuamotus are a very special world indeed between the sky and the sea. Each island encircles its own lagoon with a ring of coral and crystal clear waters beneath. Among them Tikehau, Rangiroa, Manihi and Fakarava are the most popular. The Tuamotu archipelago spreads its 76 islands and atolls of over 20 000 km2.

The Gambier are located at the extreme eastern Polynesian territory. This archipelago is composed of high Mangareva and the belt of islands, which are eroded remains of its gigantic crater.

This is where the pearl was first developed, the pearls of Gambier are extremely famous and popular. Close to the Tropic of Capricorn, the Gambier Islands are full of fruit trees.

The Marquesas archipelago consists of a dozen high islands located close to the equator and some 1500 kilometers from Tahiti.  Only six of these islands are inhabited: Nuku Hiva, Hiva Oa, Ua Pou, Ua Huka, Fatu Hiva and Tahuata.

As for the Austral archipelago, is located in the extreme south and consists of five high islands: Rurutu, Tubuai, Rimatara, Raivavae and Rapa.  These mysterious islands of the Pacific are far off the beaten track.

The Austral archipelago, composed of five high islands, with rounded shapes, has a cooler climate with which these islands have become fertile plains to the attic of Polynesia.They are famous for their gathering of the humpback whales in their shallow waters from June to September.